Find a right place to purchase music

Do you like collecting records or CDs? If you do have this hobby, you may like to know the following story about my investigation of seeking a great place for buying those music products. Getting music from a right place is a great way to enjoy music.

The story happened last Sunday when I was wandering in Walmart. I inadvertently walked by the audio section, and those unclassified music albums on the shelves drew my attention.

Zhuoqin Yang

The unclassified music section in Wal-Mart. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

Although music CDs were placed on the shelves orderly, customers would still meet a tough time to select products. Because the music section was not categorized and collated, different genres of artists were placed together randomly.

I saw those shelves setting there side by side without listing the major genres on the top. I saw that a Michael Jackson’s album was located behind an Irish folk singer Enya’s CD (I respect Enya and love her music, but her music belongs to a different genre from Michael Jackson’s). I even saw Lavigne Avril’s newest album was laid under Lady Antebellum’s label!

Zhuoqin Yang

Lavigne Avril’s newest album was laid under Lady Antebellum’s label in Walmart. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

A Michael Jackson's album was put behind folk singer Enya's album

A Michael Jackson’s album was put behind folk singer Enya’s album in Walmart. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

I could not believe in what I saw in Walmart, but it was true, and the disorganized music section still existed in Walmart. Walmart is the biggest chain department store in the world, and this enormous enterprise’s attitude on music product disappointed me. During that moment, a question bumped up from my head—is every supermarket did the same terrible work on music section like Walmart?

The music section in Target

The music section in Target .Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

Bringing with my question, I went to a Target’s retail store behind that Wal-Mart. The music section that I saw in Target was somewhat better than Wal-Mart. The major music genres were labeled on the top of every shelf, and most artists’ works were also displayed in the appropriate sections.

Zhuoqin Yang

The R&B music’s section in Target. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

Zhuoqin Yang

The rock music and country music’s section in Target. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

From my observation, target is more attentive on its music products than Walmart.

However, I still felt that the music section was not complete in Target. I understood that department stores could not take every product into their consideration very well because they have different marketing strategies. Maybe neither Target nor Walmart is a good place to buy music.

Outside of MOJO

Outside of MOJO. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

Today, I went to a book and record store behind the University Mall, MOJO, which was a good place to purchase music.

Although the space in MOJO was far away smaller than either Wal-Mart or Target, the store’s layout was delicate.

The thorough distribution in MOJO is into four parts, which are coffee shop area, book area, CD section and record section. Costumer could sit down and have a cup of coffee inside of store to talk about music and books. Walking around the CD section and record section, the multifarious products were listed in the different corners, but I would not lose myself in selecting.

Record and CD area in MOJO

Record and CD area in MOJO. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

Because artists’ works had been classified into different genres on the shelves, customers could find out their music in the easy way. Meanwhile, few special artists were put into the particular sections and placed in the prominent positions.

CD area in MOJO

CD area in MOJO. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

The labeled CDs in MOJO

The labeled CDs in MOJO. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

The record area in MOJO

The record area in MOJO. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

Besides the clear distribution of music products in the store, the massive scale of music selection was another highlight. I could not only find out CDs or albums that I wanted to buy but also had other options to select.

The specialized section in MOJO

The specialized section in MOJO. Photo credit by Zhuoqin Yang

Spending time in Mojo was valuable and enjoyable.

After I finished my limited investigation, I realized that in the future, I will go to purchase music in a specialized place like MOJO, rather than Walmart or Target. Because my experience revealed that a general department store would not meet my demands in music, purchasing music in a music store is better than other places.

Getting music from a right place is a great way to enjoy music.

Leave a Reply

